2017 DAASNY Summer Conference



July 12, 2017– Albany, New York: At the annual Summer Conference the District Attorneys Association of New York (DAASNY) installed a new President and Executive Board. Oneida County District Attorney, Scott D. McNamara was sworn is as President of the Association.

“It is truly an honor to be sworn in as President of this respected and honorable organization. I hope I can continue the tradition of leadership of those that came before me. We have a lot to be proud of as prosecutors and we do great work to improve the fairness of our criminal justice system. We have drug courts, domestic violence courts, veterans programs and numerous alternatives to incarceration programs. I am proud to lead these efforts and will do my best to carry forward and build upon the outstanding body of work of my predecessors, who sought first to better our profession so that the criminal justice system in turn would be enhanced,” said President McNamara

President McNamara took over after prior President, Rockland County District Attorney Thomas P. Zugibe completed his term. “Scott McNamara has been a valuable member of DAASNY for over 20 years. His hard work, intelligence and perspective are valued by all of our members. I am proud to have Scott leading this organization in the upcoming year and I look forward to working with him,” said DA Zugibe.

Also sworn in were President-Elect, Albany County District Attorney David Soares; First Vice President, Monroe County District Attorney Sandra Doorley; Second Vice President, Orange County District Attorney David Hoovler; and Third Vice President, Washington County District Attorney, J. Anthony Jordan.

The summer conference was held in Lake Placid, NY and attended by almost 100 District Attorneys and executive staff. The New York Prosecutors Training Institute (NYPTI) presented three Prosecutor of the Year Awards. The winners were selected from nominations by District Attorneys across the state. The awards are given to New York prosecutors who have enhanced our criminal justice system in the courtroom and the local community.

This year’s winners:

Chemung County District Attorney, Weeden Wetmore- Trial Advocacy Award

Executive Bronx County District Attorney Joseph Muroff- Executive Leadership Award

Nassau County Deputy Chief of Appeals Yael Levy- Appellate Advocacy Award

DAASNY was formed in 1909 as an organization for prosecutors in the State of New York to provide for the exchange of information and views with respect to the conduct of their offices, the New York State criminal justice system and the criminal law and operation. DAASNY encourages and fosters communication, cooperation, training and consultation among and on behalf of the district attorneys and their staffs for matters concerning the prosecution of crime in New York State and improving the legal system. It is DAASNY’s collegial approach and the fostering of communication between offices both large and small, upstate and downstate, with a particular emphasis upon ethical issues facing prosecutors , that helps to ensure greater fairness, transparency and accuracy within the criminal justice system.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply